Whether you suffered a head injury, broken bones, hearing loss or another serious work injury or illness, attorney Lisa Pierobon Mays has over 20 years of experience to help you receive the workers’ compensation benefits you deserve.
How Does Workers’ Compensation Work In Wisconsin?
When successfully applying for benefits, your claim will go through the following phases:
- Report your injury to your employer: The first thing you should do after a workplace injury or illness is to report it to your employer as quickly as possible. You must typically report these on-the-job injuries within two years to qualify for workers’ compensation. That said, the sooner you report it, the stronger your claim will be.
- Employer reports your injury to the insurer: After you notify your employer, they must report the injury or illness to the company’s workers’ compensation insurance company. They must submit this report within seven days of receiving knowledge of the injury.
- Insurer reports your injury to the Workers’ Compensation Division: Upon receiving notification of your injury, the insurer must report injury claims to Wisconsin’s Workers’ Compensation Division within 14 days.
- Workers compensation payment: Once the Division receives notification of your injury, you should begin to receive payments. Compensation typically begins within 14 days after the injury.
Denied Benefits? We Can Help.
Too often, injured workers who are eligible for benefits see their claim denied. If you are in that situation, it is important to contact our team at Mays Law Office, LLC, immediately. We work quickly to understand why your claim was denied and do everything in our power to help you establish a strong appeal.
Trusted Guidance Every Step Of The Way
No matter where you are in the workers’ compensation process, we are ready to work with you. We take on every aspect of your claim, allowing you to focus all of your energy on your recovery rather than having to worry about your benefits.