Being charged with any crime is a big deal. While it is well-known that felony crimes are more serious than misdemeanors, being charged with a misdemeanor is still a serious event. If you are dealing with a misdemeanor crime in Wisconsin, it is important to know the different kinds of misdemeanors that we have in our state. According to the state of Wisconsin, there are three official categories of misdemeanors in this state, though there is also an unofficial fourth category.
The three different official categories of misdemeanors are known as Class A, Class B, and Class C. Class A misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanors and if you are found guilty you may end up in jail for up to 9 months and have to pay a $10,000 fine. In the event of a Class B misdemeanor conviction, you may be in jail for no more than 90 days and have to pay a fine of up to $1,000. Finally, the least serious misdemeanor is the Class C misdemeanor, which carries with it a jail time of no more than 30 days and a fine of no more than $500.
The fourth unofficial category of misdemeanors are misdemeanors that may not be classified under the three official designations. For example, being arrested while driving under the influence will lead to a OWI arrest, but this is not officially categorized as a misdemeanor. If the misdemeanor in question is uncategorised, it follows the same rules as a Class C misdemeanor for sentencing.
Understanding the difference between the four categories of misdemeanors will help you through the legal process.